My New York Diary: Part 1

Three o’clock. That’s the time I had to wake up this morning as I embark on a four day, three night journey to New York with my family, something of a mecca in the U S of A. It was pitch black when I went to my designated coach stop in a strip plaza, which made a Canadian remake of The Exorcist seem more and more believable. It also didn’t help that there really wasn’t anybody there when we arrived at the coach stop. The night before, the fam and I planned to go to Timmies for breakfast, but we forgot how to Christmas and didn’t realize it was closed. Thus, we had to wait outside in the same pitch black environment for nearly half an hour.

Our tour guide was named Liv, a Shanghainese person who, despite being in mainland China for what seemed like the majority of her life, spoke decent English (in addition to Shanghainese, Mandarin, and Cantonese). The bus driver, also a Chinese person, was named Victor. So until we reached the Lewiston, New York border, the names I knew for sure were those of my family members, the person responsible for taking us to our desired location(s), and the one giving a tour of said location. As we reached a rest stop in Pembroke, we changed drivers. To put into perspective, picture an Arab guy with Zayn Malik, and voilà. Only turn off? He smokes, so proceed with caution.

It wouldn’t be a bus/coach tour without movies, and throughout the duration of the two rest stops, we coincidentally watched two movies. The first one was a HK comedy, and the other was The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. Allow me to say that they were both boring, uninteresting, and a complete waste of your time. Good thing there was enough beautiful scenery to take in to distract me (in a good way), ranging from rivers to trees to our lovely hotel which we reached at 7:00 pm.

Regarding the hotel, all you need to know was that we were in a small town in New Jersey and that it was a Hilton. Oh, and did I forget to mention that we have to pay for the Wi-Fi in our room? Well, I guess that’s what the business world does to Hilton and their long list of hotels all across the world. At the end of the day, a business wants to make money, and what better way to do so then by charging us with something as important as wireless fidelity?

Well I’ll be off to Woodbury Outlet Mall tomorrow, so apologies for not really having any photos today. But definitely be on the lookout for pics tomorrow where I show what I’ve bought.

Until next time, folks
Kelvin P

Leave a Reply

