My Exam Postmortem

Exams: it’s a five letter word. Five is also the number of exams I had, so I guess you could say it’s a reciprocal transaction. But we aren’t focusing on the number five in this post. Rather, I want to talk about my view on the word that evoke a nightmarish reaction to students, myself included.

In any exam setting, students think of two main things: how much an exam is worth and whether or not an exam covers the entire course. The weighting of an exam may seem daunting to us as university students, since the majority of exams are worth a lot (typically 40%). In addition, not all of the testable material would be perceived as “interesting,” and should that prolong into more than one chapter, it might cause you to be demotivated. But study hard and smart, and you will enjoy the fruits of your labour.

Personally, I’m not a big fan of exams. Weather (when you mix a person who’s not too fond of the cold and the month of December, it’s not going to end well), de-motivation from studying (read: Netflix) and trying to find the correct location aside (the frustrating moment when your last name appears on two ranges of last names), the main reason why I don’t like exams is because it’s an inaccurate indicator of how your future will be like. Grades will be released on transcripts, and said grades will be seen by employers looking to secure you as a candidate for, say, an internship position. Let’s say for the sake of argument that I get a 60% on a math midterm. It just so happens that this course is a required course that I need in order to graduate the program. Is that indicative of me knowing only 60% of the material? No. But that’s what the employer sees, and you have no power to change it. The consequences? It’ll have an adverse reaction to one’s motivation, self-esteem, and employment status moving forward.

So there you have it, my little rant on exams. Be on the lookout for my next blog sometime next Thursday or Friday, where I’ll show you my recent fashion pickups from my shopping trip to the U S of A.

Until next time folks,

Kelvin P

Leave a Reply

