Current Events Going On In My Life

Everyone loves current events. It’s a way of getting to know what’s going on in the world, either on a personal or non-personal level. It’s also a good conversation starter. So seeing as I’m a part of that “everyone” grouping, I thought it’d be a good time to introduce this mini-series, aptly titled “Current Events Going On In My Life.” In Grade Eight (for all the Americans, eighth grade), I remember having to do a lot of these “current event” projects and assignments for our English class. Back then, I didn’t really think there’d be any benefits. But as I got older, I began to realize the importance of current events and how it shapes our world. So here are just a couple of things I’d like to mention that happened to me on a personal level this week.

1) I was supposed to go home yesterday night. Yet, a natural disaster occurred. That’s right folks, this lovely thing called a mudslide (http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/hamilton/news/highway-403-now-open-mudslide-leads-to-day-of-gridlock-and-aggravation-1.2853438) messed up my plans of returning to Scarborough. Why you might ask? Well, a water main broke. The consequences? Well for the first time since being at Mac, the amount of cars that were stuck in traffic felt like a crowd waiting for a S Club 7 reunion concert (which, given the popularity of the group, would probably mean that a lot of cars were just laying idle on the awkwardly designed streets that seem to be one of Hamilton’s signature things). It also meant that delays for both the local buses and for other modes of transportation (such as GO Buses and Coach Canadas) were aplenty, so good luck going Black Friday shopping. Being the logician I am, I went back home this morning (so for all the mathematicians out there, if today is Saturday, and I was supposed to go home on Friday, that’s a grand difference of… 1 day). Needless to say, it was a unique experience that I’ll be sure not to forget.

2) When I came back home, I was treated to this beauty of a creation in my upstairs washroom

IMG_20141122_171103

IMG_20141122_171146

The best part? All of this was done for about $5000 by independent contractors. Not bad for a three-day project.

So there you have it. My first post on current events. Granted, there wasn’t much that happened (only two things), but sometimes, less is more. Due to exams coming up, I probably won’t be making any new blog posts until my last exam, which is on the 18th.

Until next time folks,

Kelvin P

Leave a Reply

